Vampsov Launched (finally)

Hearken, I bear tidings for thine ears (or eyes), my lackadaisical collection of followers…


So here it is: Less than 2 weeks from now, on October 17th I will be staging a launch party for my novel Vampsov 1938: A Spectre Haunting Europe.


And you are all invited!


Not that any of you needs an excuse to party, but I suppose some explanation is required as to why I’m doing this now, nearly two years since the book first hit the streets. I mean how slow is that? What are you playing at, dragging those floppy boots of yours so slowly? Well, yeah, you got me there, but I have an excuse see, I was out of the country or skint or both during large chunks of that time. Only now do I have my shit together sufficiently to stage any sort of bacchanalian extravaganza (is that what book launches are? Do I need more Monster Munch?).

Vampsov, rides into town

Vampsov, rides into town


Better late than never, I think. I also wanted to put on an event like this in case I never get another credible reason to hold one. Writing is hard, getting published even more so, who knows if I will ever finish another book? So many possible slips between cup and lip, it’s like drinking tea out of a strainer. The main thing holding me together while I worked on the book were my friends, fellow writers, and family. So I’m giving you this party, to celebrate your help, kindness and the kind of bollockings that in hindsight can be recast as ‘support’.


So, the room is booked… Phoenix Square, no less, the books have arrived and the bar has chilled the beer to perfection. I have a new pen to sign and dedicate any books I sell, I have a stockpile of tasty snacks awaiting. Everything is ready.


All I need now is your esteemed company for the evening (kick-off is at 7 pm).


I look forward to seeing you there!

A corn snack tailor-made for Soviet Vampire hunting book launches.

A corn snack tailor-made for Soviet Vampire hunting book launches.


PS Staging any kind of literary thing in the East Midlands and especially Leicester is difficult as there are now so many great things happening all year round. The date I chose deliberately avoided the Everybody’s Reading festival, the FantasyCon at Nottingham, Alex Davis’s writers day in Derby, which coincides in terms of date but not time (some people I know are coming to my launch after a day at that event). In a sense it is a good headache to have, as it shows how busy and vibrant things areat the moment. Long may it continue!

About floppybootstomp

Lecturer, teacher, writer and traveller all perfectly good nouns aren't they? Do they have anything to do with me? Ask the taxman.

Posted on October 4, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

ian sneath

This is me

CALAMITIES PRESS

we are stories and pictures in seconds. an artistic tremor in your scrolling travels between episodes and interactions.

James Dargan

Writer and Raconteur

The Weirdest Band in the World

A lovingly curated compendium of the world's weirdest music

J.P. Wilder

Author of Dark and Fantastic Tales

The Joined Up Writing Podcast

A little procrastination goes a long way

Morgan Sylvia

Through the Labyrinth

Sean's Secret Diary

Dad, you read my diary?!

Tricia Sullivan

Powered by bloody-mindedness

Think Left

The purpose of Think Left is to present a view of politics from a left-wing perspective.

Pride's Purge

an irreverent look at UK politics

Whatever

THIS MACHINE MOCKS FASCISTS

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

Eclectic Voices

Fiction, Monologues, Plays & More

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

From Meredith Allard

Writing Historical Fiction With a Twist

