It Was Not A Happy Patrol

 Fantastic news from the Floppybootstomp word mine. I have just signed a contract with the American publisher Omnium Gatherum to publish my dark fantasy novel, Vampsov 38.

 

Obviously signing the contract is just the first step in a process that could take many months. Still have to make adjustments to the manuscript before the final draft is approved, then a decision has to be made as to when to publish. All this could take a while. Still, I do hope it will be worth the wait.

 

The principal editor (and boss) of Onmnium Gatherum, Kate Jonez, has already helped me to improve the manuscript through the submission process. One of the issues she highlighted was the use of the passive voice, particularly in the opening sentence of a novel (which is why the title of this post is what it is – and has been expunged from the novel!).

 

Preparing a manuscript – particularly this one – has involved a lot of people who have helped me get it to the stage it is now. To give you some idea, I finished the first draft towards the end of 2009. I submitted it to an agent for comment at the Writing Industries Conference early in 2010 and gave it to my initial set of readers (Keith Morley, Keith Large and Maria Smith) in the same year. Their comments really helped the book come together. Later, I submitted the new version of the manuscript to my fellow writers in The Speculators writers group. Thanks to all of them, particularly Jim Worrad and Damien Walter for their efforts. The old canard of needing a village to raise a child is certainly true of Vampsov. I’m particularly grateful to Writing East Midlands, The Phoenix Writers and The Speculators writers group for their help. Without you guys, I’d never have got this far. I owe you big time.

 

So let me wish all my readers a happy festive season. I hope that one year soon you find a copy of a novel in your Xmas stocking that tells of the adventures of Soviet vampire hunters on the eve of WWII. The two V’s of the one-word title, creepily elongated into fangs… I’ll be working my *&^$ off to make that scenario a possibility rather than just a dream.

 

Merry Christmas!

 

 

 

 

About floppybootstomp

Lecturer, teacher, writer and traveller all perfectly good nouns aren't they? Do they have anything to do with me? Ask the taxman.

Posted on December 22, 2011, in Writing Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow! Dan what a way to end 2011…really pleased for you. I knew it was a goer.

    Here’s to a successful, and prosperous 2012…

    Merry Christmas

    Maria

  2. Yeah, it’s certainly perked me up! Regards to your mum too (a reader I failed to mention). Looking forward to 2012 now.

  3. Dan,

    Great work. Look forward to finding a copy of your novel in my December 2012 Xmas stocking, though I’d have bought it already if it comes out before. Have a fantastic 2011 Christmas and enjoy what’s going to be an exciting 2012 for you.

    Congratulations,

    Keith L

Leave a Reply

ian sneath

This is me

CALAMITIES PRESS

we are stories and pictures in seconds. an artistic tremor in your scrolling travels between episodes and interactions.

James Dargan

Writer and Raconteur

The Weirdest Band in the World

A lovingly curated compendium of the world's weirdest music

J.P. Wilder

Author of Dark and Fantastic Tales

The Joined Up Writing Podcast

A little procrastination goes a long way

Morgan Sylvia

Through the Labyrinth

Sean's Secret Diary

Dad, you read my diary?!

Tricia Sullivan

Powered by bloody-mindedness

Think Left

The purpose of Think Left is to present a view of politics from a left-wing perspective.

Pride's Purge

an irreverent look at UK politics

Whatever

I'M STARING AT THE ASPHALT WONDERING WHAT'S BURIED UNDERNEATH

countingducks

reflections on a passing life

Phillybookpick's Blog

GREAT BOOK PICKS -In the World of page turning thrillers !

Eclectic Voices

Fiction, Monologues, Plays & More

A Word Of Substance

"Object Relations"

From Meredith Allard

Historical Fiction With a Twist

